Administrative details

Name of charity: The Academy of Medical Sciences
Registered charity no: 1070618
Registered company no: 3520281
Principal address:
(and Registered Office)
41 Portland Place
London W1B 1QH
Principal bankers:
Lloyds TSB Bank PLC
12 Cavendish Place
London W1G 9DJ
20 Farringdon Road
London EC1M 3AP
Investment fund manager:
Sarasin & Partners LLP
Juxon House, 100 St Paul’s Churchyard
London EC4M 8BU

Honorary Officers

President: Professor Sir John Tooke PMedSci
Vice Provost of UCL and Head of the UCL School of Life and Medical Sciences
Vice-President: Professor Sir Patrick Sissons FMedSci
Emeritus Regius Professor of Physic, University of Cambridge
Vice-President: Professor Martin Humphries FMedSci
Vice – President & Dean, Faculty of Life Sciences, University of Manchester
Treasurer: Professor Susan Iversen CBE FMedSci
Emeritus Professor of Psychology, University of Oxford
Registrar: Professor Moira Whyte OBE FMedSci
Professor of Respiratory Medicine and Head of Department of Infection and Immunity, University of Sheffield
Foreign Secretary: Professor Robert Souhami CBE FMedSci
Emeritus Professor of Medicine, University College London

Ordinary Members of Council

Professor David Adams FMedSci retired November 2013
Sir Alasdair Breckenridge CBE FRSE FMedSci
Professor Alastair Buchan FMedSci retired November 2013
Professor Edwin Chilvers FMedSci
Professor Carol Dezateux CBE FMedSci
Professor Stephen Dunnett FMedSci appointed November 2013
Professor Alan Fairlamb CBE FRSE FMedSci retired November 2013
Professor Maria Fitzgerald FMedSci
Professor Jayne Franklyn FMedSci
Professor Graham Hart FMedScI appointed November 2013
Professor John Iredale FMedSci
Professor Fiona Karet FMedSci
Professor Sir Robert Lechler FMedSci  retired November 2013
Professor Andrew Lees FMedSci
Professor Roger Lemon FMedSci
Professor Jonathan Shepherd CBE FMedSci
Professor Simon Tavare FRS FMedSci
Professor Veronica van Heyningen
appointed November 2013
Professor Joanna Wardlaw FMedSci  retired November 2013
Professor Jonathan Weber FMedSci  retired November 2013
Professor Peter Weissberg FMedSci

Co-opted members 2012

Professor Anna Dominiczak FMedSci re-appointed December 2013
Professor Raymond Hill FMedSci retired November 2013
Professor Shitij Kapur FMedSci re-appointed December 2013
Dr Melanie Lee CBE FMedSci appointed December 2013
Professor Martin Roland FMedSci re-appointed December 2013
Professor Victor Tybulewicz FMedSci re-appointed December 2013

Principal Employed Officers

Executive Director Dr Helen Munn
Director of Biomedical Grants and Careers Policy Dr Suzanne Candy
(from Jan 2014)
Director of Biomedical Grants and Careers Policy Dr Simon Vincent
(until Nov 2013)
Director of Medical Science Policy Dr Rachel Quinn
Director of Finance and Resources Mrs Chris Straw


Back to home